Facebook pixel Meet the Faculty at the School of Public Policy: Faculty Directory Skip to main content
Pepperdine | School of Public Policy

Public Policy Meet the Faculty

Faculty Directory

The faculty of the Pepperdine School of Public Policy is comprised of leading academics and practitioners in the various fields of public policy who have been carefully chosen not only for their expertise but for their alignment with the mission of the school and their ability to translate their respective academic disciplines into prevailing policy terms.

They are the most vital element in shaping the culture and the values of the School of Public Policy. Of special interest is a view of teaching and scholarship which integrates instruction with research, focuses on the student, and makes informed, practical applications at all levels of planning and decision making. Documents, policies, and materials relevant to School of Public Policy faculty members and performance of their duties are available from the SPP Faculty and Staff Services Community website or the Office of the Dean at 310.506.7490.

A distinctive feature of the school is the use of distinguished public policy scholars and practitioners to augment its own full-time faculty and the faculty of the University's four other schools. This significant use of visiting scholars and practitioners, more widely accepted in a teaching professional school than in a research university setting, contributes to the distinctiveness of the Pepperdine program.  Visiting faculty have included policy leaders like Jack Kemp, Michael Novak, Steven Hayward, Hanna Skandera, Victor Davis Hanson, Karen Elliott House, and Kevin Faulconer.

 

Faculty Job Title Department Email Phone Letter Tags
Bilakovics, StevenAdjunct FacultyB
Blanco, LuisaProfessor of Public Policy310.506.7466luisa.blancoraynal@pepperdine.eduBBusiness,Economics,Finance
Brooks, BobMaldonado Fellowrobert.brooks@pepperdine.eduB
Bruno, CarsonAdjunct Faculty310.506.7492carson.bruno@pepperdine.eduBState/Local/Urban Policy
Burke, LindseyB
Chen, LanheeFall 2017 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting ProfessorC
Choi, AnnaJames Q. Wilson Visiting Professor 2018–2020anna.choi@pepperdine.eduCEconomics,Education,Healthcare Policy,Research Methods/Statistics
Cole, RickAdjunct FacultyC
Coyle, JamesAdjunct Faculty310.506.7691james.coyle@pepperdine.eduCeurasian politics,national security
Ellis, AshtonAdjunct Facultyashton.ellis@pepperdine.eduE
Faulconer, KevinVisiting Professor of Community Leadership and Government InnovationF
Featherstone, JamesExecutive Director at Homeland Security Advisory Counciljames.featherstone@pepperdine.eduFState/Local/Urban Policy
Finley, EmilyAdjunct Facultyemily.finley@pepperdine.eduF
Fox, JoelAdjunct Facultyjoelfox1@gmail.comF
Frates, StevenSenior FellowDavenport Institute949.500.3513sjfrates@roadrunner.comF
Gailey, AdamAdjunct Facultyadam.gailey@pepperdine.eduG
George, RobertRonald Reagan Honorary Distinguished ProfessorG
Goebel, BrianAdjunct Faculty310.506.7490G
Graf, MarlonAdjunct Facultymarlon.graf@pepperdine.eduG
Graffy, ColleenDirector of the London Semester Associate Professor of Lawcolleen.graffy@pepperdine.eduGInternational Law
Graham, WadeAdjunct Faculty310.506.7691wade.graham@pepperdine.eduGEnergy Policy,Environmental Policy,State/Local/Urban Policy
Hanson, Victor DavisInaugural Terry Giles and Kalli O’Malley Distinguished Visiting Professorvictor.hanson@pepperdine.eduH
Hayward, StevenEdward L. Gaylord Visiting Professor of Public Policysteven.hayward@pepperdine.eduHEnergy Policy,Government,History (Cultural/Democratic)
Herschensohn (In Memoriam), BruceHenry Salvatori Fellow (Spring 2003)HGovernment,International Relations/Foreign Affairs,Public Relations/Public Affairs
House, KarenSpring 2014 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorkaren.house@pepperdine.eduH
Jasso, SeanPractitioner Faculty of Economicssean.jasso@pepperdine.eduJEconomics
Johns, JosephAdjunct Faculty; Environmental and Urban Planning Policy310.506.7691joseph.johns@pepperdine.eduJEnergy Policy,Environmental Policy,State/Local/Urban Policy
Johnson, ByronDistinguished Visiting Professor of Religious Studies and the Common GoodJ
Kaufman, RobertRobert and Katheryn Dockson Professor of Public Policy310.506.7601robert.kaufman@pepperdine.eduKInternational Relations/Foreign Affairs,politics
Keshavarz, AlmaAdjunct FacultyK
Kmiec, DouglasCaruso Family Chair in Constitutional Law310.506.4255douglas.kmiec@pepperdine.eduKConstitutional Law,Ethics/Morality/Character,Law
Labosier, AshleySenior FellowDavenport Institute for Public Engagement and Civic Leadership310.506.6878ashley.labosier@pepperdine.eduL
Lloyd, GordonRobert and Katheryn Dockson Professor of Public Policygordon.lloyd@pepperdine.eduLEconomics,Government,History (Cultural/Democratic)
Lynch, ThomasAdjunct Facultythomas.lynch@pepperdine.eduLEconomics,State/Local/Urban Policy
Mansdoerfer, DavidAdjunct Facultydavid.mansdoerfer@pepperdine.eduM
McAllister, TedEdward L. Gaylord Chair 1998-2023Professor of Public PolicyMEthics/Morality/Character,History (Cultural/Democratic),Religion/Theology
McClay, Wilfred2019-2020 Ronald Reagan Professor of Public Policy310.506.7490wilfred.mcclay@pepperdine.eduM
McGowan, KevinAdjunct Facultykevin.mcgowan@pepperdine.eduMState/Local/Urban Policy
McGuigan, ChristianAdjunct Facultychristian.mcguigan@pepperdine.eduMState/Local/Urban Policy
McNeal, GregoryProfessor of Law and Public Policy310.506.7292gregory.mcneal@pepperdine.eduMCriminal Law and Procedure,Ethics,National Security Law
Mihailescu, AndreaState Department Fellow in Residence 2019–2021M
Mitchell, HattieVisiting Professor of Education and Policyhattie.mitchell@pepperdine.eduMEducation,Public Policy and Politics,policy
Oh, DayeaAssistant Professor of Public Policydayea.oh@pepperdine.eduO
Peterson, PeteDean310.506.8054pete.n.peterson@pepperdine.eduPPublic Policy and Politics
Prieger, JamesProfessor of Public Policy310.506.7150james.prieger@pepperdine.eduPBusiness,Economics,Finance,Public Policy and Politics
Reichental, JonathanAdjunct FacultyR
Romero, GloriaAdjunct FacultyREducation,State/Local/Urban Policy
Rowe, BradAdjunct Facultybrad.rowe@pepperdine.eduR
Sagynbekov, KenAdjunct Facultykenybek.sagynbekov@pepperdine.eduS
Schnur, DanAdjunct Facultydaniel.schnur@pepperdine.eduSPolitical Science,Public Policy and Politics
Sellers, AbbylinAdjunct FacultyS
Sexton, RobertDistinguished Professor310.506.4345robert.sexton@pepperdine.eduSEconomics,Government,History (Cultural/Democratic),State/Local/Urban Policy
Shevchenko, AlexeiAdjunct Professor310.506.7691alexei.shevchenko@pepperdine.eduSInternational Relations/Foreign Affairs
Shires, MichaelVice Dean for Strategy and Online Programs310.506.7692michael.shires@pepperdine.eduSEconomics,Education,Energy Policy,Finance/Tax,International Relations/Foreign Affairs,Leadership/Strategy,Nonprofit,Public Relations/Public Affairs,Research Methods/Statistics,State/Local/Urban Policy
Sikkenga, JeffreySpring 2018 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorjeffrey.sikkenga@pepperdine.eduS
Skandera, HannaVisiting Professor of Education Policy and ImpactSEducation,policy
Skinner, KironTaube Professor of International Relations and Politics310.506.8048kiron.skinner@pepperdine.eduSPublic Policy and Politics
Spalding, ElizabethSenior FellowS
Streeter, RyanS
Sublett, CameronAdjunct Facultycameron.sublett@pepperdine.eduS
Tamura, RobertSpring 2011 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorrobert.tamura@pepperdine.eduT
Tapia, PrimoAdjunct Facultyprimo.tapia@pepperdine.eduT
Varadarajan, TunkuAdjunct FacultyV
Watts, StevenAdjunct Facultysteven.watts@pepperdine.eduWEconomics,Religion/Theology
Wendel, PeterProfessor of Lawpeter.wendel@pepperdine.eduWProperty,Wills and Trusts
Wilburn, JamesDean Emeritus310.506.7490james.wilburn@pepperdine.eduWEconomics,History (Cultural/Democratic),International Relations/Foreign Affairs,Leadership/Strategy
Wilson, James Q.Ronald Reagan Professor of Public PolicyW
Wilson, KurtAdjunct Facultykurt.wilson@pepperdine.eduW