Facebook pixel Public Policy Faculty | Pepperdine School of Public Policy Skip to main content
Pepperdine | School of Public Policy

Public Policy Meet the Faculty

Meet the Faculty

The faculty of the School of Public Policy is comprised of leading academics and practitioners in the various fields of public policy who have been carefully chosen not only for their expertise but for their alignment with the mission of the school and their ability to translate their respective academic disciplines into prevailing policy terms.

They are the most vital element in shaping the culture and the values of the School of Public Policy. Of special interest is a view of teaching and scholarship which integrates instruction with research, focuses on the student, and makes informed, practical applications at all levels of planning and decision making.

A distinctive feature of the school is the use of distinguished public policy scholars and practitioners to augment its own full-time faculty and the faculty of the University's four other schools. This significant use of visiting scholars and practitioners, more widely accepted in a teaching professional school than in a research university setting, contributes to the distinctiveness of the Pepperdine program.

 

Faculty Job Title Department Email Phone Letter Tags
Blanco, LuisaAssociate Professor of Public Policy310.506.7466luisa.blancoraynal@pepperdine.eduBEconomics
Brooks, BobMaldonado Fellowrobert.brooks@pepperdine.eduB
Bruno, CarsonAdjunct Faculty310.506.7492carson.bruno@pepperdine.eduBState/Local/Urban Policy
Chen, LanheeFall 2017 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorlanhee.chen@pepperdine.eduC
Choi, AnnaJames Q. Wilson Visiting Professor310.506.7608anna.choi@pepperdine.eduCEconomics,Education,Healthcare Policy,Research Methods/Statistics
Coyle, JamesAdjunct Faculty310.506.7691coyle@chapman.eduC
Ellis, AshtonAdjunct Facultyashton.ellis@pepperdine.eduE
Featherstone, JamesAdjunct Facultyjames.featherstone@pepperdine.eduFState/Local/Urban Policy
Fox, JoelAdjunct Facultyjdfox@earthlink.netF
Frates, StevenDirector of Researchsteven.frates@pepperdine.eduF
Gailey, AdamAdjunct Facultyadam.gailey@pepperdine.eduG
Graf, MarlonAdjunct Facultymarlon.graf@pepperdine.eduG
Graffy, ColleenDirector of the London Semester Associate Professor of Lawcolleen.graffy@pepperdine.eduGInternational Law
Graham, WadeAdjunct Faculty310.506.7691wade.graham@pepperdine.eduGEnergy Policy,Environmental Policy,State/Local/Urban Policy
Hanson, Victor DavisWilliam E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professor (Spring 2009; 2011; 2014)victor.hanson@pepperdine.eduH
Hayward, StevenSummer 2016 Washington DC Facultysteven.hayward@pepperdine.eduHAmerican Politics,Energy Policy,Government,History (Cultural/Democratic)
Herschensohn, BruceHenry Salvatori Fellow (Spring 2003)310.506.7691HAmerican Politics,Government,International Relations/Foreign Affairs,Public Relations/Public Affairs
House, KarenSpring 2014 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorkaren.house@pepperdine.eduH
Jasso, SeanAdjunct Facultysean.jasso@pepperdine.eduJEconomics
Johns, JosephAdjunct Faculty; Environmental and Urban Planning Policy310.506.7691joseph.johns@pepperdine.eduJEnergy Policy,Environmental Policy,State/Local/Urban Policy
Kaufman, RobertRobert and Katheryn Dockson Professor of Public Policy310.506.7601robert.kaufman@pepperdine.eduKAmerican Politics,International Relations/Foreign Affairs
Kmiec, DouglasCaruso Family Chair in Constitutional Law310.506.4255douglas.kmiec@pepperdine.eduKConstitutional Law,Ethics/Morality/Character,Law
Lloyd, GordonRobert and Katheryn Dockson Professor of Public Policy310.506.7602gordon.lloyd@pepperdine.eduLAmerican Politics,Economics,Government,History (Cultural/Democratic)
Lynch, ThomasAdjunct Facultythomas.lynch@pepperdine.eduLEconomics,State/Local/Urban Policy
McAllister, TedEdward L. Gaylord Chair310.506.7603ted.mcallister@pepperdine.eduMAmerican Politics,Ethics/Morality/Character,History (Cultural/Democratic),Religion/Theology
McClay, Wilfred2009-2010 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professor310.506.7490wilfred.mcclay@pepperdine.eduM
McGowan, KevinAdjunct Facultykevin.mcgowan@pepperdine.eduMState/Local/Urban Policy
McGuigan, ChristianAdjunct Facultychristian.mcguigan@pepperdine.eduMAmerican Politics,State/Local/Urban Policy
McNeal, GregoryAssociate Professor of Law310.506.7292gregory.mcneal+web@pepperdine.eduMCriminal Law and Procedure,Ethics,National Security Law
Peterson, PeteDean of Pepperdine School of Public Policy310.506.8054pete.n.peterson@pepperdine.eduP
Prieger, JamesProfessor of Public Policy310.506.7150james.prieger@pepperdine.eduPEconomics
Romero, GloriaAdjunct Facultygloria.romero@pepperdine.eduRAmerican Politics,Education,State/Local/Urban Policy
Rowe, BradAdjunct Facultybrad.rowe@pepperdine.eduRAmerican Politics
Sexton, RobertDistinguished Professor310.506.4345robert.sexton@pepperdine.eduSAmerican Politics,Economics,Government,History (Cultural/Democratic),State/Local/Urban Policy
Shevchenko, AlexeiAdjunct Professor310.506.7691alexei.shevchenko@pepperdine.eduSInternational Relations/Foreign Affairs
Shires, MichaelAssociate Dean for Strategy and Special Projects310.506.7692michael.shires@pepperdine.eduSEconomics,Education,Energy Policy,Finance/Tax,International Relations/Foreign Affairs,Leadership/Strategy,Nonprofit,Public Relations/Public Affairs,Research Methods/Statistics,State/Local/Urban Policy
Sikkenga, JeffreySpring 2018 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorjeffrey.sikkenga@pepperdine.eduS
Tamura, RobertSpring 2011 William E. Simon Distinguished Visiting Professorrobert.tamura@pepperdine.eduT
Tapia, PrimoAdjunct Facultyprimo.tapia@pepperdine.eduT
Trim, AshleyAdjunct Faculty310.506.6878ashley.trim@pepperdine.eduT
Watts, StevenAdjunct Faculty in Economicssteven.watts@pepperdine.eduWEconomics,Religion/Theology
Wendel, PeterProfessor of Lawpeter.wendel@pepperdine.eduWProperty,Wills and Trusts
Wilburn, JamesDean Emeritus310.506.7490james.wilburn@pepperdine.eduWAmerican Politics,Economics,History (Cultural/Democratic),International Relations/Foreign Affairs,Leadership/Strategy
Wilson, James Q.Ronald Reagan Professor of Public PolicyW