Facebook pixel Meet the Staff | Pepperdine School of Public Policy Skip to main content
Pepperdine | School of Public Policy

Meet the Staff

The School of Public Policy staff are dedicated to serving the needs of students in a variety of areas. These administrative staff with extensive experience at Pepperdine, broad exposure to policy and student service, and exceptional commitment to the mission and success of the school are identified below with job functions and service areas.

Administrative Staff

Pete Peterson - Pepperdine University
Pete Peterson (MPP '07)

Dean
Senior Fellow, Davenport Institute

310.506.8054

Email

Pete Peterson's Full Bio

  • Administration and Faculty
  • Development and Strategic Planning
  • Consulting/Training, Public Engagement Skills
  • Training, Online Engagement
  • Writing/Speaking, Public Engagement
Sarah Axen - Pepperdine University
Sarah Axen

Administrative Assistant
Advancement and Davenport Institute

310.506.6803

sarah.axen@pepperdine.edu

  • Administrative Services
  • Community Affairs
  • Donor Relations
  • Events
Carson Bruno - Pepperdine University
Carson Bruno (MPP '12)

Assistant Dean for Admission and Program Relations

310.506.7492

carson.bruno@pepperdine.edu

Carson Bruno's Full Bio

  • Admission
  • Career Services
  • External Relations
  • Financial Aid
  • Program Outreach
  • Recruitment
  • Student Services
Sheryl Covey - Pepperdine University
Sheryl Covey

Assistant Dean for Administration

310.506.7470

sheryl.covey@pepperdine.edu

  • Academic Affairs
  • Administrative Services
  • Budget Management
  • Information Technology
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Student Affairs
Matt Cutler - Pepperdine University
 Matt Cutler

Director of Advancement

310.506.6513

matt.cutler@pepperdine.edu

  • Advancement
  • Board of Advisors
  • Community Affairs
  • Donor Relations
Melissa Espinoza - Pepperdine University
Melissa Espinoza

Assistant Director of
Engagement & Programs 

310.506.7686

melissa.espinoza@pepperdine.edu

  • Events
  • Communication and Marketing
  • Donor and External Relations
  • Graduate Assistants  
  • Administrative Services 
Mary Jo Hardman - Pepperdine University
Mary Jo Hardman

Administrative Assistant
Office of the Dean and Faculty

310.506.7395

maryjo.hardman@pepperdine.edu

  • Administrative Services
  • Faculty Support
  • Room Reservations
  • Student Affairs
Christopher Jones - Pepperdine University
Christopher Jones

Director of Student Services

310.506.7369

christopher.j.jones@pepperdine.edu

  • Academic Advising
  • Financial Aid
  • Student Organizations
  • Student Relations
Jaclyn Ramirez - Pepperdine University
Jaclyn Ramirez

Manager of Marketing and Communication

310.506.7497

jaclyn.ramirez@pepperdine.edu

  • Communication and Marketing
  • Community Relations
  • Creative Services
  • Media Advisor/Public Relations
  • Web and Social Media
Michael Shires - Pepperdine University
Dr. Michael Shires

Associate Dean for Strategy and Special Projects

310.506.7692

michael.shires@pepperdine.edu

Michael Shires's full Bio

  • Strategic Planning
  • Institutional and Curriculum Design
  • Program Collaboration
  • Assessment
  • Public Policy and Public Affairs
  • Public Speaking
Ashley Trim - Pepperdine University
Ashley Trim (MPP '09)

Executive Director
Davenport Institute

310.506.6878

ashley.trim@pepperdine.edu

Ashley Trim's Full Bio

  • Annual Grant Program
  • Events
  • External Relations
  • Institute Administration
  • Public Engagement Blogs
  • Research
  • Student Relations
Kirsten Vassie - Pepperdine University
Kirsten Vassie

Admission Assistant

310.506.7572

kirsten.vassie@pepperdine.edu

  • Admission
  • Campus Tours
  • Database Management
  • Events
  • Recruitment Calendar
James R. Wilburn - Pepperdine University
James R. Wilburn

Dean Emeritus

310.506.7490

james.wilburn@pepperdine.edu

  • Advancement and Development
  • External Relations
  • Instruction
  • Research
  • Strategic Planning
Photo of a classroom filled with people - Pepperdine University
Office of Career Services

310.506.7488

sppcareers@pepperdine.edu

  • Career Guidance
  • Employer Relations
  • Internship Assistance
  • MBTI Assessment
  • Professional Development