Facebook pixel Education Policy and Impact Advisory Committee | Pepperdine SPP Skip to main content
Pepperdine | School of Public Policy

Education Policy Advisory Committee


Pepperdine's School of Public Policy is committed to properly equipping its graduates to become leaders with clearly defined values and moral certainties who can then effectively change, design, or create the organizations that serve society. Pepperdine's School of Public Policy is preparing the next generation of leaders—leaders capable of preserving and improving our free and prosperous nation.

The Pepperdine School of Public Policy is honored to bring together some of the nation's most prominent education leaders to participate in an Education Advisory Board for the 2019-2020 academic year.

As a country we are investing in the opportunity of education, but are we delivering? Are we raising up a generation of bold, innovators with integrity who are prepared to cast a vision of freedom and opportunity, fight for our country's future and build bridges where healing and mending is needed? The time is right to intentionally prepare leaders to be equipped to lead and deliver on the true promise of education.

The Education Initiative for Policy and Impact Advisory Board will design specialized content to make this program a leader in the ecosystem. The Advisory Board is comprised of bipartisan leaders from across the country who share a passion for developing the next generation of leaders to drive impact in the education ecosystem. It will inform the design and development of an education policy and leadership specialization within the graduate institution. It will be led and chaired by visiting professor of education policy and impact Hanna Skandera, with the generous support from the Searle Freedom Trust. 

Pepperdine School of Public Policy – Education Advisory Board

  • Hanna Skandera, Chair of the Education Advisory Board, Senior Fellow at Pepperdine School of Public Policy
  • Ben Austin, Executive Director of Kids Coalition
  • Derrell Bradford, Executive Vice President of 50CAN
  • Christopher CerfCommissioner of Education for the New Jersey Department of Education and former Superintendent of Newark Public Schools
  • Rick HanushekPaul and Jean Hanna Senior Fellow at The Hoover Institution and Professor at Stanford University
  • Frederick HessDirector of Education Policy Studies at the American Enterprise Institute
  • Thomas KaneWalter H. Gale Professor of Education at the Harvard Graduate School of Education
  • Holly KuzmichExecutive Director of the George W. Bush Institute and Senior Vice President George W. Bush Presidential Center
  • Patricia LevesqueCEO of the Foundation for Excellence in Education
  • Gregory McGinitySenior Vice President of Civic Affairs and the Executive Director for California Charter Schools Advocates
  • Candice McQueenChief Executive Officer of the National Institute for Excellence in Teaching
  • Nina ReesPresident and Chief Executive Officer of the National Alliance for Public Charter Schools
  • Jamie WoodsonCEO of TriStar Strategies and former CEO of Tennessee SCORE
  • David SteinerExecutive Director of Johns Hopkins University Institute of Education Policy and Professor of Education at John Hopkins University
  • Ted McAlisterEdward L. Gaylord Chair and Associate Professor at Pepperdine's School of Public Policy
  • Michael ShiresAssociate Dean for Strategy and Special Projects, Director of Assessment, and Associate Professor at Pepperdine's School of Public Policy
  • John WhiteState Superintendent of the Louisiana Department of Education